Author Topic: Bi-regulated power supply with no end capacitor  (Read 1234 times)

Offline HendriXMLTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Bi-regulated power supply with no end capacitor
« on: December 18, 2018, 08:27:02 pm »
Hi,
I'm trying to design a very stable power supply without using end caps. The reason for this is the possibility to add a short-circuit protection, that activates without discharging an end cap.
It also needs to be stable driving inductive loads. The attached circuit seems to be working, but still has some 40 mV noise on the output. Propably because of the low differential voltages (mV) it is regulating on.
So I would like some advise on how to keep the noise down.

The circuit needs some delicate tuning on some trimmers to get it working correctly, so I already know it is not for mass manufacturing :). But as a beginner, I find this project very useful to explore some practical limits and get a better understanding of things.
First I shall explain my thoughts when I came up with the design. There're 2 sections: one for constant voltage and one for constant load current regulation.

Section 1: constant voltage
First of all I wanted to separate power supply variation and load variations (including inductive load voltages). Sensing resistors R3 and R6 are used for that.
  • R3 is sensing the Zener diode (D1) current and the load current.
  • R6 is sensing a constant current (Q3) and the load current.

The op amp U1 is used to regulate a balance between the voltage drops.

Voltage variations on the input are sensed by R3 and regulated down by Q1.
Voltage variations/spikes on the output are sensed by R6 and regulated by Q2 in section 2.

Section 2: constant load current
In this section the stable voltage of 5.1V is regulated down to 5.0V by controlling the current through R6 to about 450mA.