Author Topic: bridgeless pfc controller  (Read 3086 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
bridgeless pfc controller
« on: June 21, 2017, 08:44:34 am »
Hi,
Do you recommend any bridgeless pfc controller IC or app-note to implement it with a MCU?
I know about the UCC28070DWR, but it's rather expensive
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline MagicSmoker

• Super Contributor
Re: bridgeless pfc controller
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2017, 06:18:29 pm »
You can use a standard UC3854 or similar type of PFC controller for the "totem-pole" and "symmetrical boost" bridgeless PFC topologies. Note that in most (all?) bridgeless topologies you either need to use opto-feedback or a differential/instrumentation amplifier with a common mode input range that comfortably exceeds the mains voltage to allow the controller IC to monitor the output voltage. EMI filtering can be especially challenging in bridgeless PFC designs as well.

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2017, 07:03:12 am »
Thanks for the info, Do you recommend any web-links or app-notes?

Offline MagicSmoker

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2017, 06:58:23 pm »
Thanks for the info, Do you recommend any web-links or app-notes?

I will attach one app note on the totem-pole boost PFC topology that I personally think is very valuable; you should be able to use that information to jump start searching elsewhere for more. Also, the symmetrical boost is briefly covered by its inventor, Sanjaya Maniktala, in his most excellent book "Switching Power Supply Design & Optimization".

The following users thanked this post: ali_asadzadeh

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2017, 09:15:08 am »
Thanks MagicSmoker, I appreciated it a lot :)

Offline MagicSmoker

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2017, 10:24:34 am »