Author Topic: Building a new Fender style Deluxe Reverb Amp AB763 from scratch with photos  (Read 10557 times)

Offline PlanobillyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi everyone,

This is my first time at trying to build an amp from scratch. I am sure I will have some questions along the way!!...lol I repair amps but I don't have much understanding of how they get designed. The main reason for building this amp is to learn more about design and how they actually work.

Here is the basic schematic I am working with. I am sure along the way I will make changes to the design.

http://schematicheaven.net/fenderamps/deluxe_reverb_ab763_schem.pdf

I will insert a few photos of the project to date as soon as I figure out how to do that!! ...lol

Be back in a bit.

Thanks,

Billy

Here are three photos of how I started the project. I guess they are to large to insert as attachments. I could use a little help in understanding how to get photos and schematics to appear in a post...if that can be done.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/planobilly/shares/vPJ90c
« Last Edit: July 30, 2016, 06:07:00 pm by Planobilly »

Offline singapol

• Frequent Contributor
This is a proven commercial design,why would you want to change it or reinvent the wheel?

• Regular Contributor
This is a proven commercial design,why would you want to change it or reinvent the wheel?

There are a few things that are not included in this design. Master volume control for one. I intend to install a post phase inverter master volume control. I also what to include a switchable solid state bridge rectifier along with the tube rectifier. I have also given some thought to install a Mosfet based power scaling arrangement. I have also given some thought to rearranging the grounding layout for possible better noise reduction. As I stated, I am building this amp to learn about design and I am using this basic design as a starting place for further experimentation.

Cheers,

Billy

Offline wgrant