Author Topic: CAN (arduino) Kickstarter, what do you think?  (Read 6629 times)

Offline JohanHoltbyTopic starter

• Contributor
CAN (arduino) Kickstarter, what do you think?
« on: May 18, 2015, 11:01:18 pm »
Hi all,
I have followed EEVblog from about #72 but have not engaged in this forum until now. I work as a test engineer and designs production tests for electronics. I'm investigating how to make a Kickstarter project and would like to have some feed back and would like to have your thoughts and why you think so. Of course I have thought very much about this topics but would greatly appreciate your thoughts.

Short description

I'm making a CAN based Atmega board to allow programming of multiple units through the CAN bus using a boat loader (CAN and serial based). This should also be Arduino compatible.
Benefits (not in order):
a. No JTAG daisy chain is needed (programming only using a USB cable and a serial boat-loader (will have a ISP/debug wire connector not mounted)).
b. Can program devices spread out over a long distance.
c. No need to worry about jamming of wireless solutions.
d. CAN is a very stable protocol.
e. This is a easy step stone to start using CAN and it will be open hardware.

My questions:
1. Should I make it?
2. Should I make the board small with only some of the pins exposed or more complex and maybe include a small prototyping board area?
3. Should I keep the price low and only use 16kb unit or higher?
4. Should I have a DC to DC converter mounted on the board and should it handle higher currents like 0.5A to drive external electronics?
5. Should I ship the board with the connector mounted or not to allow for flexibility?
6. Should all units be the same or should I have a Interface unit to connect to the CAN bus and have simpler units without USB capability?
7. What is a good price point?

I guess that is enough to start with :)

Thank you very much for your feedback
/Johan

Offline tron9000

• Frequent Contributor