Author Topic: Can you route better than an autorouter?  (Read 20504 times)

Offline GamerAndds

• Regular Contributor
  • We always learn, its our nature.
    • 2000 watt amp
Re: Can you route better than an autorouter?
« Reply #25 on: March 02, 2016, 02:52:26 pm »
I have never tried auto routing before, but it sounds like a good choice (looking infront of me at 5 breadboards filled with components)  :palm: . I noticed with your pictures howerver you use a much bigger trace for say your VCC. How hard is this to change after, or do you do this before?

Offline jolshefsky

• Regular Contributor
    • Jason DoesItAll
« Reply #26 on: March 02, 2016, 04:40:15 pm »
Here's a comparison. For the autorouted board, I had to route ground net manually for some reason (probably because I put in a ground polygon before feeding it to the autorouter), but that's mostly just via to ground plane. Otherwise, the router routed the whole board.

Well, I think your placement of parts is a bit wonky to start with. I consider myself quite a novice, but I tend to group like parts together. An example is C11 which I guess is a filter cap for a voltage divider of some sort ... maybe a temperature sensor? Anyway, I'd want to put it near the resistors its associated with and pretty that up first. By orienting them right, you can get some short traces to bind them all together and then have a couple traces that look like the inputs and outputs they are in the schematic.

On the other hand, the autorouter decided to run that trace right between the pins on the clock crystal capacitors. That looks like a recipe for trouble, with a 20MHz square wave capacitively-coupled so close to what seems to be a signal trace.