Author Topic: Choosing what to build?  (Read 2112 times)

Offline eujeanTopic starter

• Contributor
Choosing what to build?
« on: July 19, 2016, 06:49:22 am »
Hi there, I am an Electronics Engineering student, and have the following problem.

As part of a course at the university, in a group of 3 we have to design a system, which is completely modular, and designed from the ground up. There are a few limitations and the system can be described as a good system when it complies with the following:
  • Does the system address a clear requirement / need?
  • Is the system divisible into multiple functional blocks?
  • Is the system divisible into multiple architecture blocks?
  • Can the system be demonstrated in a basic undergrad electronics lab?
  • Can the system's functionality be evaluated by measurable performance parameters

So this sounds simple enough right. But there are so many possible options. I was wondering if anyone on the forum has any ideas? If we do it, it will be completely open source/open hardware.

I also have a few examples:
  • Access Control System
  • Automated Animal Feeding System
  • Unexploded Ordnance Detection Buggy
  • Optical intercom
  • etc...

Also the system has to be designed with an eye on production/manufacturing.

A guaranteed way for the project to be rejected according to the lecturer includes:
  • Systems that work with liquids or pollutants
  • Purely embedded / software designs
  • Purely mechanical designs
  • Designs that require a single IC, or a simple interconnect of a few ICs.
  • Systems that cannot be disassembled into testable constituent subsystems.

Thanks in advance, and let the project ideas roll! :P

Offline tron9000

• Frequent Contributor
  • Still an Electronics Lab Tech
    • My Hack-a-day project page
Re: Choosing what to build?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2016, 08:23:32 am »