Author Topic: Critique: Arduino(-ish) I2C GPIO multiplexer  (Read 3476 times)

Offline int2strTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Critique: Arduino(-ish) I2C GPIO multiplexer
« on: October 30, 2014, 07:29:16 am »
Hi! Beware, software guy doing hardware here :)

Attached is a board I've designed as a simple GPIO multiplexer for an Arduino style board. It uses an RJ25 jack as I2C/power input and will multiplex to 8 GPIO pins using a MCP23008 multiplexer.

I'm pretty new to doing board so I'd like some critique.

General questions I have:
1. I kind of need them for the DIP switches to work, but would I really need the pull-up resistors otherwise? The datasheet for the MCP23008 only says "Must be biased externally", doesn't mention pull-ups. I assume I still need 'em, no?

2. Same for the reset line. In this case it will be toggled by the Arduino itself, but otherwise, would I need a pull-up? Or can I connect directly to VCC?

3. Any tips tricks for the schematic?

4. Anything I can do better on the board design?

Please be honest, I can take it :)
Looking to learn here.

If you want to point me to any reading materials, I'll take that as well.

Thanks for your help!

:-DMM

Tac Eht Xilef

Re: Critique: Arduino(-ish) I2C GPIO multiplexer
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2014, 09:19:07 am »
Don't know about the rest (not familiar with that particular I/O expander, though I suspect your assumptions are correct), but a general tip: wire the INT output back to your host, especially since you've got a spare pin in your connector. You never know when that will come in handy - at the very least it gives you the option of using an interrupt handler rather than scanning in a loop.

(It's probably an open-collector output, so will need a pull-up resistor.)

Offline Jeroen3

• Super Contributor
  • Embedded Engineer
    • jeroen3.nl
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2014, 11:06:40 am »
If you're planning to use long RJ25 cables you might want to add some clamping diodes.