Author Topic: dc-dc boost converter layout critique  (Read 5728 times)

Offline iampoorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
dc-dc boost converter layout critique
« on: September 14, 2014, 11:28:10 am »
Hi

I am trying my first dc-dc converter layout. Schematic is a reference design (minus he 220uf caps that I placed to experiment with)

How does he layout look? What can I improve? I am a newbie in high speed layout...I only do audio circuits, so all feedback is highly appreciated. :)

UPDATED LAYOUT in Post #4
« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 07:05:33 pm by iampoor »

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: dc-dc boost converter layout critique
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2014, 12:09:36 pm »
If it's two sided, you might as well fill the back side with copper.  Then you can add vias to top side ground in regular positions (and near high current pads) to make things even better.

Examples: the trace from D1 to R1 has little ground around it; ground doesn't connect under C6, so current around D3 has to go all the way around those traces to get back to anything (other caps, IC).

Also, there's no output pins... :P

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Offline 0xfede

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2014, 01:35:50 pm »
Go and get dirty, you'll never regret!

But for sure C8 will cause it is reversed ;)
« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 01:37:34 pm by 0xfede »
Semel in anno licet insanire.

Offline Alex30

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2014, 01:46:40 pm »
Sorry for the lame feedback, but your border on your board is crooked, make sure those lines are straight!  ;)

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2014, 07:04:41 pm »