Author Topic: DC Line Filtering for Noise  (Read 2788 times)

Offline FlyingHackerTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • You're Doing it Wrong
DC Line Filtering for Noise
« on: July 23, 2017, 04:40:44 pm »
I have a little voltage inverter I made for use in an Amatuer Radio application (<30MHz). The circuit uses a 555 to drive a charge pump. The 555 runs at ~3.2KHz

I would like to filter the INPUT 12V (to prevent this circuit from back-feeding interference) as the line is shared with a lot of other equipment. I want to keep the square wave from generating interference back to the shared power bus.

I am looking for some ideas, and some education regarding this topic (I am a hobbyist). Would an X and two Y capacitors be the best way to filter this? Which formulae would be used to calculate the values? I get output filters like basic low pass filters. How do those work in reverse to filter noise going back towards the supply?

Any info and suggestions/links appreciated. I would like to garner at least a basic understanding of the topic.

Thanks.

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: DC Line Filtering for Noise
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2017, 05:08:32 pm »
The NE555 is known to produce quite some current spikes on the supply. So one might want to consider a less "noisy" solution to start with. Charge pumps also tend to draw current spikes - so they are not that attractive to a low noise circuit.

Filtering could be some kind of Pi type filter. So a capacitor (or 2 ) at the Chip, an inductor and than a capacitor at the supply side.
The filter would work in both directions. Other sensitive parts from the same supply might want a similar filter as well.

• Frequent Contributor
  • You're Doing it Wrong
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2017, 05:25:25 pm »
Thanks for the reply, Kleinstein.

The output will have almost no load on it (<10mA, likely less than 5mA).

OK. So a Pi filter will work in both directions. This is good to know. I know how to calculate that.