Author Topic: Designing a custom Lightsaber PCB - code writing time....  (Read 41731 times)

Offline CanobiTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Designing a custom Lightsaber PCB - code writing time....
« on: April 22, 2015, 08:09:16 pm »
Hi guys

I've been making custom/replica props in my spare time for a few years now and one I keep revisiting as my skills develope is the lightsaber.

This time I'm upping the ante and making my own custom PCBs for my projects. I built a PCB fabrication lab (most of it anyway) so I didn't have to deal with loose running wires and the constant repairs that go with fitting that kind of setup.

I've already made a good start on a new PCB layout, and I'm just extending it as I add additional functions (board width has to remain within 20mm, I can extend it to 5 or 6 inches if necessary).

With a bit of luck the full board will include all of the following:

• charge management

• charge status indication

• soft latching switch

• embedded audio

• sound amplification

Charge management/indication is an obvious one for me as it saves having to remove the battery. I'm using an MCP73833 and GTR CR123A combo. The battery has a PCB mount holder on the blank side, the SMD components are on the other (still doing single sided but I'll get there).

The soft latching switch is both timely and a godsend.

It's timely as I happen to be learning about transistors n fets on an EE course I'm on and thought it would be a bit of handy practical to include it in the circuit.

I found out about latching circuits during some side research. The trail eventually led me to the design I'm going to use provided by this site:

http://www.edn.com/design/power-management/4427218/Latching-power-switch-uses-momentary-pushbutton