Author Topic: Designing a power profiling PSU / Source Measure Unit  (Read 11883 times)

Offline AloyseTechTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Designing a power profiling PSU / Source Measure Unit
« on: May 04, 2018, 03:51:41 pm »
Hi,

I would like to build a "simple" (one quadrant) Source Measure Unit with logging/streaming to PC capabilities. The goal is to profile power consumption on microcontrollers based system (sleep mode, radio transmission peaks etc...).

This thread will sum up my work and research.
I will post update here as long as I work on this.

It's my first project involving analog electronic and power supply design.
Idea, comment, tips and tricks are very welcome. :)

Design requirements :

Output voltage range : 1.5V to 5V
Output voltage adjust step: 0.1V or less
Output current range : 0nA to 5A
Current measurement min : 100nA or less
Voltage measurement resolution: 2mV
Shunt dropout compensation
Soft Start
Voltage regulation error : 5% MAX
Current regulation error : 15%max
Adjustable Constant Voltage and Adjustable Constant Current mode
Logging/streaming of Current and Voltage measurement over USB
ADC resolution min : 12bit
Sample rate : At least 10kS/s
If multiple range, automatic switching in less than 1/(SampleRate)sec
Sync/Trigger input to sync measurement to external device
Max budget : 200-300€

Source of information:
Silicon Labs WSTK development board:
100nA to 100mA measurement, fix 3.3V output, fixed and compasted shunt
https://www.silabs.com/documents/public/schematic-files/WSTK-Main-BRD4001A-A01-schematic.pdf

Atmel Xplained Pro Analog Module
20nA to 400mA, 3.3V fixed output, dual shunt range (100R & 0.1R+Rdson), no compensation (dropout limited to 100mV?)
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/Atmel-42091-Atmel-Xplained-Pro-Hardware-Development-Kit_User%20Guide.pdf

Possible useful parts:
TPS53313 : Buck up to 6A, 0.6 to 0.7*Vin output voltage, compensation pin for shunt dropout correction?