Author Topic: Simple diy SDR radio with Tayloe mixer and STM32  (Read 83561 times)

Offline timofonic

• Frequent Contributor
  • Eternal Wannabe Geek
Re: Simple diy SDR radio with Tayloe mixer and STM32
« Reply #125 on: May 01, 2016, 02:00:30 am »
How does this work with GNU Radio?

Offline YansiTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • STM32, STM8, AVR, 8051
« Reply #126 on: May 06, 2016, 10:34:26 am »
Pardon, how does what work with what? To which post is your post related to?

• Super Contributor
  • STM32, STM8, AVR, 8051
« Reply #127 on: June 09, 2016, 10:56:50 pm »
Finally got some spare time to make some small progress. This time, I studied (again) the basics of a SSB demodulation in a DSP.

This document describes very nicely all basic operations needed:
https://www.arrl.org/files/file/Technology/tis/info/pdf/98qex003.pdf

So I know, I need a Hilbert transform, to shift the Q signal another 90 degrees. (Note: Fine, I found myself a little tool from "Iowa Hills" which can do the thing as expected. Here are their very neat tools: http://www.iowahills.com/8DownloadPage.html )

So basically I need two lowpass filters, for I and Q baseband signal. And a third one, the hilbert transformer, to be able to demodulate the SSB. However the document above mentions (page 13, "Analythic Filter-pair Synthesis"), that the baseband filter coefficients may be modified by multiplying the impulse response with a complex exponential. Thus reducing the need for the third FIR, keeping only the two modified response ones.

That seemed interesting optimization. So I tried to test the theory in matlab.  My limited understanding of that technique is that I will get two filters, with the same magnitude response and phase different by 90degree between the two filters. However the results from matlab do tell otherwise.  :o