Author Topic: [Project] 3+Pi (3PlusPi) A 3+ Axis Raspberry Pi 'hat'  (Read 901 times)

Offline tkdaichiTopic starter

[Project] 3+Pi (3PlusPi) A 3+ Axis Raspberry Pi 'hat'
« on: January 23, 2019, 08:54:43 am »
G'day everyone.

I'm a graduate EE from Brisbane with a passion project. I humbly welcome your constructive feedback and opinions. I --- as many others might agree --- am always learning to improve and I am willing to always endeavour to learn even more.

Allow me to introduce to you my project: 3+Pi. https://hackaday.io/project/163498-project-3pi

A 3+ axis Raspberry Pi Hat. The concept of this board was originally to be used for 3D printers/CNC machining/Laser cutters or just about any application that requires the need for 3+ axis control. Acquiring inspiration from the RepRAP model ATMEGA2560 based boards, I thought it would be nice to have a rather all in one package whereby the end user wouldn't need to have a computer within proximity or have a gcoded SD card that will plug and play. I thought it'd be nice to have an all in-one package allowing end users (especially to those who might be new to this domain) to have the ability to see what is being built or what they wish to 'slice' and 3D print. This all can be done in one system similar to a deploy and go but with visual feedback and learning experience.

However, it felt as though I was limiting the project to only accommodate a closed target so I thought that, maybe this can be used for robotics application or perhaps even more. I mean, there are 4 (currently although thinking of adding even more later hence the 3+) stepper drivers on board right now so that can be used to do kinematic robotic applications right?

Anyways, it's currently a work in progress as of now (23rd Jan 2019) I am waiting for the boards to be manufactured and trying to cut down BOM prototype components costs as this is currently being funded entirely on my own savings. (It's a passion project after all)