Author Topic: DIY Modular Test Equipment Project  (Read 50384 times)

Offline Leo Bodnar

• Frequent Contributor
Re: DIY Modular Test Equipment Project
« Reply #100 on: August 04, 2017, 08:12:23 pm »
If you are designing your own modular instrumentation project you might find this http://www.easy-phi.ch/ interesting.
Leo

The following users thanked this post: prasimix

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #101 on: August 05, 2017, 08:49:57 pm »
Prasimix has an idea like that. I did mention in a previous post that my version of modular is not going to have everything in the same enclosure and try to keep the costs down, although you could combine some of them. It's not going to be rackmount either.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #102 on: August 09, 2017, 07:23:51 am »
A simple solution to this is to use a window comparator circuit (LM393) for each rail and some P-channel MOSFETs paired with a delay circuit (CMOS 555 or some monostable using logic gates) and a cheap voltage reference (TL431 or LMV431).
Turns out that it's not going to be so simple so I'll just use an undervoltage lockout comparator for each rail, OR them together, some TVS diodes for overvoltage protection and rely on the polyfuses at the linear regulators' inputs to limit the current. The reference for the UVLO comparator is  going to be a TL431. Output disconnect will still be done using MOSFETs.

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #103 on: August 10, 2017, 01:49:29 pm »