Author Topic: DIY Modular Test Equipment Project  (Read 50475 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Re: DIY Modular Test Equipment Project
« Reply #25 on: June 04, 2016, 09:44:09 pm »
The User Interface schematic is almost finished but I thought I'd ask for a few more opinions before I call it finished.
A few component values still have to be calculated.

Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline Mastrofski

• Contributor
« Reply #26 on: June 05, 2016, 01:15:18 am »
Subbed.

I'd suggest 14-bit DAC for DC load. That will allow to set current in 1mA steps with some wiggle for calibration. Sometimes it's nice to have.
Or at least two ranges (low current, high current) like in some production DC loads. ;)

Just a little note here: Using old components bought on ebay, or from Grandpas part-box is often really worth it.
I have an almost finished (Haven't built a case yet) DC-Load flying around somewhere that uses a Ferranti 8-Bit DAC, a 4066 to switch between 2 current-ranges and an LM324 as the controlling Op-Amp on a Euro-Card. It's quite a mess because of the parallel data-bus, but you can debug the circuit with a Multimeter instead of a digital scope with Serial Bus-Decoding.
Also it looks kinda cool having some ceramic DIP-Package with a golden cap on it :)
And you can build it on Vero-Board in an afternoon instead of waiting for 3 weeks until the boards arrive.

I think for one-off pieces of equipment, using odds and ends is fine, but for something going into production, or something designed to be recreated by others(such as this project), sourcing components begins to become an issue.

Love the idea though! I'll definitely be following along.

Offline timofonic

• Frequent Contributor
  • Eternal Wannabe Geek
« Reply #27 on: June 05, 2016, 04:59:26 am »
Amazing project!! Are you going to release as Open Hardware and Open Software at GitHub?