Author Topic: DIY Power Supplies  (Read 4026 times)

Offline rebelrider.mikeTopic starter

• Contributor
DIY Power Supplies
« on: October 14, 2018, 09:07:00 am »
I'm pretty new to electronics, and I want to do some projects more to learn than to use.

One thing I'm interested in is power supplies. I figured I'd start simple, and build a linear power supply. I found the basic diagram and parts, and it's pretty straightforward. At least until I got into the details.

Mains Voltage => Transformer => Rectifier => Smoothing Capacitor => Noise Filter Capacitor => Linear Regulator => Another Noise Filter Capacitor => Output Voltage

I decided to make my own transformer from one I found in a defunkt UPS. That project was written up in another thread. https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/noob-plays-with-transformers/ I already had a rectifier in a parts bin, which I was able to identify as a GBU806. I found out this unit has can do up to 600V, 8A. And has a Voltage drop of 2V. At the start, I had no idea what the 3 capacitors were supposed to do, or that the regulator would need such "high" Voltage (7-28V) in order to give a 5V output. Fortunately, some folks were able to help me read datasheets, and I found a lot of useful info on the internet!

One of the first things I discovered was that after rectification, the Voltage would be higher than it was coming out of the transformer. Eventually, I learned about RMS and some of the math associated with it. Turns out 120VAC is closer to 170V at it's peak, but since it's constantly sine waving from +peak to -peak, something more like an average is used to. That took a while to wrap my brain around, but fortunately, the math to figure it is pretty simple. Just whatever your Voltage is x 1.414.

In my case: 9VAC x 1.414 = 12.7VDC

I picked the Voltage coming from the transformer at 9VAC mostly because it seemed fairly close to the lower end of what the regulator wanted, without going too low.