Author Topic: driving 3 phase brushless motors  (Read 3972 times)

Offline SimonTopic starter

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
driving 3 phase brushless motors
« on: September 20, 2018, 11:16:35 am »
I am looking at this catalogue: https://www.parvalux.com/media/wysiwyg/Resources/Catalogues/Parvalux_-_Brushless_Catalogue.pdf

In particular at the PBL86-91. I've never worked with these motors before but from the information given driving them is as simple as switching the phases high and low for the listed outputs of the sensors? is it that simple? not proper sine waves required?

Offline MrW0lf

• Frequent Contributor
    • lab!fyi
Re: driving 3 phase brushless motors
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2018, 11:22:38 am »
not proper sine waves required?

You PWM voltage to get semi-sinusoidal current. Thats why they squeal like pigs at low RPM when there is no BEMF to smooth things out.

• Global Moderator
    • Simon's Electronics
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2018, 11:30:13 am »
yea that is what I meant, so basically by high and low they are referring to the polarity of the sine wave.

Offline MrW0lf

• Frequent Contributor
    • lab!fyi
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2018, 11:41:13 am »
yea that is what I meant, so basically by high and low they are referring to the polarity of the sine wave.

...and if you get PWM wrong its trouble because impedance of the windings is non-existent. Hardly any inductance at all - was quite surprised when measured them first time. So better start playing at veeery low voltages :)

• Global Moderator
    • Simon's Electronics
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2018, 11:44:12 am »
even better to get an off the shelf controller but I need one for automotive not a pansy industrial controller that won't take the 250V spikes and 40V surges.

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2018, 03:32:21 pm »
You have to think about it like this: