Author Topic: Driving lots of TFT SPI screens at high speed  (Read 15238 times)

Offline DavidMentingTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Nut & Bolt interaction design
Driving lots of TFT SPI screens at high speed
« on: August 26, 2014, 08:02:24 am »
For a nice project I'm working on I'm attempting to drive a large(-ish) number of 2.2" TFT SPI screens.

It's a second revision of this project:

In the new revision we're running 16 screens on a Raspberry Pi via SPI.

The 2.2" screens have an ili9341 driver IC on board. Communication with the screens is done via 3 wire SPI, plus an additional Reset and Data/Command line. I have been able to drive three screens hooked up directly to the Raspberry Pi's GPIO connector at a clock rate of 42MHz.

I have no experience in dealing with high speed signals and large fanouts, so going from 3 to 16 screens is something I could use some advice on.

The main question is: how do ensure the 42MHz SPI signals end up at the screens reliably?

The Raspberry Pi is capable of driving 8mA and the ili1941 specifies 1µA input current, so drive strength should not be an issue.

The screens will be positioned approx. 200mm from the Raspberry Pi. If I fan out directly from the Raspberry Pi that is 3.2m worth of cable, so I expect transmission line issues to come into play. What sort of cables and connectors should I use? How should I approach termination? And can I smartly apply buffers to mitigate the problem, for instance by splitting the 16 screens into blocks of 4 or daisy chaining?

I have seen the iPod screen project by Mike and really liked his approach, but I'd like to steer clear of embedding a microcontroller with every screen. I have ordered a bunch of buffer logic IC's to experiment, but could use any expert advice.

Online mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Driving lots of TFT SPI screens at high speed
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2014, 08:41:51 am »