Author Topic: Rigol DS1054z measurement questions  (Read 2204 times)

Offline drummerdimitriTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Rigol DS1054z measurement questions
« on: September 02, 2019, 11:23:37 am »
So I'd like to make some audio signal measurements out of my amplifier but since I don't want to risk shorting things out I have read somewhere a while back that I could use two probes without the grounding clip and the math function to see the signal on the scope.

How exactly is this done? What operation do I need to choose?

Also, can I make THD or DF measurements with this scope?

Offline AngusBeef

• Regular Contributor
Re: Rigol DS1054z measurement questions
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2019, 01:03:20 am »
I'm new at Oscilloscoping but I believe it's called a differential measurement

Subtract channel 2 from channel 1

Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: September 04, 2019, 01:05:30 am by AngusBeef »

Offline Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2019, 01:36:17 am »
is your amplifier connected to mains (not isolated)? if no ie if its isolated, no need 2 probes trick, one probe, probe's gnd to circuit's gnd is the normal way. DS1000Z math function is hopeless unless for some very slow update rate applications or while noise figure is not important or when you have nothing else better. if you still insist, you can see for yourself by pressing math button, choose (A - B) choose which channel to become A and which to become B, and turn on the math display, its all in the menu.
Nature: Evolution and the Illusion of Randomness (Stephen L. Talbott): Its now indisputable that... organisms “expertise” contextualizes its genome, and its nonsense to say that these powers are under the control of the genome being contextualized - Barbara McClintock

Offline AngusBeef

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2019, 01:46:19 am »