Author Topic: Could someone explain how this IC is being used please?  (Read 2120 times)

Offline Chris WilsonTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Race car engineer, dog lover, hoarder.
Could someone explain how this IC is being used please?
« on: February 14, 2017, 06:21:51 pm »
Attached is the schematic of a frequency doubler. It takes a 136kHz input and doubles it to give a 472kHz output. I am not sure how the IC and the two transistors function. The IC is a 74HCT4046 and its data sheet is available here: http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/66679.pdf?_ga=1.131595913.701848857.1475733716

Finally, as a beginner I am unsure about the note on the schematic regarding a 51 Ohm resistor, I assume it's for impedance matching, but what I don't understand is why it would be a series resistor at the doubler's output, but a parallel one on the Class D amp input. Thanks
Best regards,

Chris Wilson.

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: Could someone explain how this IC is being used please?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 06:36:12 pm »
There's not too much to understand.
The frequency doubling happens at the input transformer through full-wave rectification.
The 4046 (which is a PLL) is misused as amplifier/buffer only to drive the bipolar buffer stage. If you look at the datasheet, pin 14 is the input to the preamplifier ("self bias circuit"), the PC1 is just an EXOR gate with the other input tied to V+.

Concerning the resistor notes: the normal way of matching impedance, in this case 50 ohms, is a series resistor at the sending end and a parallel resistor at the receiving end.

Offline Andy Watson

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2017, 07:02:09 pm »
Benta beat me to it!

If you want 272kHz, why not generate it directly?

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2017, 07:06:28 pm »
Thanks for the fast reply!