Author Topic: Fixing a product that is failing CE radiated emissions  (Read 2023 times)

Offline 3DogsTopic starter

Fixing a product that is failing CE radiated emissions
« on: August 22, 2018, 04:08:44 am »
Hi all.
This is my first post here, so please be kind.

I am a designer with 30 years of experience, mainly doing embedded controllers and some mixed-signal designs. I designed a very high-current motor control board for a battery-operated lift, which has been quite successful in terms of operation and reliability. At the time the design was initially started, FCC and CE testing were not a concern. Several years after the design was put into production, the product went through FCC testing, and with some tweaking (ferrite cores on the motor leads, and lowering the processor clock frequency), it passed.
Now the company is trying to get CE approval, and they have introduced another complication - they added a wired remote control tied into the existing front-panel control switches. The unit is failing CE radiated emissions, mostly in the sub-70MHz range. When the “pendant” is stretched out, the radiated emissions are much, much worse. I have been called back to see if i can help them fix this issue.
The first thing I want to do is to determine whether the radiation is coming from the H-Bridge FETs switching, or (as I am thinking), the broad-band noise from the brushed DC motor at 50-70 amps. The reason I don’t think it’s the FETs is: I modified a board with larger gate resistors and confirmed that the switching time was increased from 200nS to 500nS or so, and when the board was re-tested, they didn’t see any significant change.

I am proposing buying a Spectrum Analyzer and doing some basic scans to see if i can pinpoint the area where the noise is coming from, and when I do, using the SA to measure the effectiveness of any fixes I try. I have a number of questions about this (keep in mid that I am on a shoestring budget, under $2,000):