Author Topic: FPGA beginner  (Read 19052 times)

Offline gonnafailTopic starter

• Contributor
FPGA beginner
« on: November 25, 2010, 05:40:12 am »
I have an upcoming project where I will need to receive, decode, then retransmit HDMI video signals. I plan on using the Texas Instruments HDMI transmitter receivers and have come to the decision that this will need to be done with an FPGA. The problem is I have very little experience with FPGAs. I have done some code modifications on boards at work and I took a couple of courses at school on VHDL. I was wondering if anyone had any good resources for learning FPGA development. Either Alterra or Xilinx is fine. Ideally I would like a reasonably priced Development board with a series of lessons meant to be used with it to get me started. The main requirement being that the FPGA on the dev board be capable of HDMI input/output.

I have found a lot of various development boards out there but most seem to be quite expensive with very little resources for a beginner. I am hoping to find something less than $800 CDN with a decent level of support behind it.

Offline allanw

• Frequent Contributor
    • Electronoblog
Re: FPGA beginner
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2010, 08:10:38 am »
I started an FPGA project recently and found this board to be very cheap, at least at academic pricing.

http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?NavPath=2,400,836&Prod=ATLYS

It has HDMI.

Offline joelby

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2010, 12:11:15 pm »