Author Topic: Fun with resistors  (Read 26791 times)

Offline theagemanTopic starter

• Contributor
    • My Blog
Fun with resistors
« on: August 12, 2015, 12:03:22 am »
Hello everybody,

I'm not really an electronics engineer. I'm a hobbyist in electronics but i'm a software-engineer as well. Lately I needed to develop an android application, so I installed Qt Creator and all associated android dev-tools on my system.
To get started I decided to develop a small program that I had mind for a long time.
It allows you to synthesize a resistor-circuit based on a given value and the number of resistors to use:
Really funny results can be achieved by constraining the minimum and maximum allowed value to be used. If, for example, you only have 4k7 resistors but you need a 1234.5678 ohm value, you could do something like this:   ;)
I know this is just an academic exercise, but if there is interest in the binary or code:
At https://github.com/theageman/rfun/releases you can get both!

Greetings, Olli!

EDIT:
I started this project in C++/Qt/QML. But I changed it to Delphi XE2 later in the process.
To get the latest version, please have a look at https://github.com/theageman/rfun/releases.
The most recent version at the moment is here : https://github.com/theageman/rfun/releases/tag/0.25.
Have fun,
Olli.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2015, 04:12:30 pm by theageman »
Jazz is not dead, it just smells funny

The following users thanked this post: Cliff Matthews

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: Fun with resistors
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2015, 12:14:58 am »
Heh, cool :-+

Would it be possible to add tolerance calculation to that?  That is, assuming each resistor is maybe 3 sigma = rated tolerance (+/- 5%), and adding up the total for the derived network.

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

• Contributor