Author Topic: How on earth does this power supply work?  (Read 10841 times)

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: How on earth does this power supply work?
« Reply #25 on: May 05, 2015, 03:52:35 am »
Weird, I've not taken apart one which didn't have one!

12V supplies make sense both from being more power-dense, and for being more consistent with mobile platforms -- laptops generally have a master 14-20V rail from which the rest are supplied (including battery management and ideal-diode circuits).  Wouldn't mind 24V really, you get even more power through less wire.

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Offline dom0

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: May 05, 2015, 06:44:34 am »
I have to say as an amateur radio operator I have a slight bias toward Anderson Powerpole connectors. Reliable, configurable, and the connector size is fairly small despite 30A per pin rating! Other nice thing is the gender-less design. I'd like to see those used in PCs too.

I think we can do better:

Should be good for a couple hundred amps :-)

Offline DanielS

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #27 on: May 05, 2015, 12:15:41 pm »
They also need to come up with a higher current standard connector.
Not really: the high-current version of MiniFitJr can already handle 13A per pin, so the 6-pin connector could handle GPUs up to about 450W if the GPU measured wiring losses to detect the use of high-current connectors and heavier gauge wires, then set power limits accordingly.