Author Topic: Greetings and Help with Power Routing / Oring Board Design  (Read 985 times)

Offline jwhittenTopic starter

Greetings and Help with Power Routing / Oring Board Design
« on: October 23, 2016, 02:12:01 am »

Hello everybody,

This is my first post on this forum.

I'm hoping to get some assistance with designing a Power Routing Board for my robot. Some background about me. I have general electronics experience, most of it from some years ago, but I'm pretty new to working with MOSFETS and all these new fancy Power-Handling chips and such. In general, I must say that it looks like MOSFETS are awesome replacements for the BJT's that I've used in the past! ;-)

[TL;DR: My questions are on down toward the bottom of my post]

Here's my setup, I am building a 6-wheeled "rover" type platform to use as an experiments platform and one of my requirements is for a "human scale" operating span, meaning that it must have enough onboard power to approximate a human day. For my purposes that means that the CPUs and sensors must be fully operable for around 16+ hours of a day, and capable of operating in standby capacity for up to 24 hours (or longer). It must be capable of moving for at least four hours a day between charges. Longer is fine.

To this end, I have acquired two 9AH 12.8VDC LiFePo4 batteries with SMBus (I2C) communication, which I estimate gives me about 115 watt-hours each. Each battery has a built-in TI BQ3050 battery mgmt chip and provides lots of interesting operational detail about various aspects of the battery: run rate, estimated time to depletion, current usage, average current usage, voltage, etc. lots more.