Author Topic: Help finding components for headphone amplifier  (Read 9591 times)

Offline The Soulman

• Frequent Contributor
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: Help finding components for headphone amplifier
« Reply #25 on: June 26, 2017, 07:12:28 pm »

Or look at the c-moy op-amp based designs.
Cmoy is best, when one battery dies, and your amplifier is suddenly the headphone killer.

Yes don't use a center tap on your battery's, make some half decent symmetrical regulated psu.

Offline firstcolleTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #26 on: August 13, 2017, 05:29:58 pm »
Hi everyone!
first of all thanks for all the suggestions!! now I'm taking in consideration the PGA2311 + TPA6120 solution.
I'm ok with the digital section (encoder + spi and OLED display) but I'm a little noob with the analog one. now the stupid questions.. can I connect straight the output from the PGA2311 to the TPA6120 input?? and for the PGA2311 input, do you suggest some buffer to match the impedance? the PGA2311 datasheet says that it works at the best with a 600Ohm impedance input... I know that all the commercial audio equipment may have a line output with low impedance.. so I'm ok with that?

many many thanks!

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2017, 06:02:45 pm »
Hi again!
I've done a little prototype on breadboard and I found out that I can connect the PGA2311 direct to TPA6120, all works fine except the Mute by pulling low the Mute pin on the PGA2311, doing that cause an output of 2V from the TPA6120.. probably due to the internal PGA mute circuit. no problem if I load 0x00 in the volume register (software mute).