Author Topic: Help verifying a power circuit  (Read 3351 times)

Offline ZingerTopic starter

• Contributor
Help verifying a power circuit
« on: April 11, 2017, 11:32:02 pm »
I'm designing a power circuit to control a 12V 4.67A strip of LEDs.  I've come up with something I think will work but I'm a novice at this.  I'd really appreciate it if someone who knows what they're doing would take a look at it.

I've attached the schematic and simulation I did on SystemVision.  Big thanks to everyone who replied to this thread.  https://www.eevblog.com/forum/beginners/easy-to-learn-circuit-simulator/ Your input was invaluable.

The power supply on the left is 12V.  In the real circuit I will use a reed switch to drive the MOSFET's gate. For the simulation, I used a voltage controlled switch and hooked it up to a pulsed 5V.  I couldn't find a simple switch in the parts list.

The resistor on the left is to limit the current going into the reed switch.  There seem to be a million reed switches that can handle 12V and 80mA.

I modeled the MOSFET on a BUZ11 because several sites said it's a popular NPN and it looks cheap on eBay.

I modeled the lamp load on my LED strip.  12V, 4.67A, 56W.  I think the current spike when I first turn on the transistor is because the lamp model has a fairly large inrush current. The LED strip I'm using is a high quality one from HitLights. It's protected so I don't think that will happen in the real circuit.  BTW, Hit has fantastic customer service, as I found out this morning.  https://www.hitlights.com/

Will this thing work?  Is it overkill?  Will it kill someone?  What am I missing?

Thanks
"It's better to ask a stupid question than to make an expensive mistake."

Offline ebclr

• Super Contributor

The following users thanked this post: Zinger

• Contributor
Re: Help verifying a power circuit
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2017, 12:06:59 am »