Author Topic: Help with driving a fan with pwm  (Read 3499 times)

Offline MrIndecisoTopic starter

Help with driving a fan with pwm
« on: March 22, 2017, 06:42:31 pm »
Hi,
I don't know if this is the right section or if I should write on Beginners, but I'm trying to make a circuit which should convert a 4 pin fan connector, with PWM, to a 3 pin fan connector that requires voltage regulation.
I searched for something similar on the forum but I didn't find anything useful.
I thought at these two (not so) different ways to do it:

(I've never used CircuitMaker before so sorry for my wiring)
Everything seems fine with one fan, and gets even better with a capacitor after the Mosfet, the voltage drop is about 0.3V  (I think). The Mosfet gets just warm with a Duty Cycle of 60%.
However when I try with two fans (every fan uses about 0.3A) the voltage drops of even 2 or 3V and the Mosfet starts heating up.
What should I do?
This is the datasheet of the mosfet: https://cdn.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Components/General/FQP30N06L.pdf
Thanks to everyone

Offline mrkev

• Regular Contributor
Re: Help with driving a fan with pwm
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2017, 07:24:21 pm »
Hi.
It is heating up, because you have it backwards. It acts as emitor follower and even worse, the body diode keeps it open the whole time. (just try to draw a line where the current flow. From +12V, to +12V pin on the fan, to pin 3 of the transistor and you get that the diode is in the forward direction to pin 2).
Swap pins 2 and 3, and while keeping the resistor between pin 1 and 3 (you probably don't need the bipolar transistor) make the value lower (I would say even 4k7). When the transistor is switched off, its input capacitance (which is high: 1nF) is discharged through this resistor. From 680k and 1nF you get 680us time constant, which is too high.

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2017, 07:35:07 pm »
I checked and I just made it wrong in the schematic, on my breadbord it is right.