Author Topic: Help with electric car conversion!  (Read 33049 times)

Offline IsadTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Help with electric car conversion!
« on: May 10, 2015, 02:23:17 pm »
So i am trying to build a electric car
from a Fiat uno and i am thinking of buying 3x36v 1kw
motor out of ebay since thats all i can afforde cuz its
free shipping.Would that be enought to move the car?
Lifes to Short Make the Most of It

My youtube channel: http://goo.gl/yMdPzQ

Offline LeChatNoir

• Contributor
Re: Help with electric car conversion!
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2015, 03:11:58 pm »
Well depending on the model of Fiat Uni the stock engine is in the range of 33kW to 87kW.
I have no experience in this but I dought anything below 15-25kW would be suitable.

Don't forget $10,000 - $30,000 (if brand new) of batteries to power it and that added weight, could be less or more depending on what you are trying to do.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2015, 03:15:44 pm »
Well depending on the model of Fiat Uni the stock engine is in the range of 33kW to 87kW.
I have no experience in this but I dought anything below 15-25kW would be suitable.

Don't forget $10,000 - $30,000 (if brand new) of batteries to power it and that added weight, could be less or more depending on what you are trying to do.
I am gettin one for about 150$ deppend either diesel or petrol.And as for batteris i can get 2pc for 50$ used and they go  good for 5 years more then enought i just want to mnow would they be enought to get it moving of curse with the transmision.

Offline rob77

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2015, 03:42:26 pm »
the petrol engine has it maximum power at high RPM, at low RPM the petrol engine really sucks - and exactly on those low RPMs is the engine used. 50kW @ 5000rom engine might easilly be a 5kW @ 1500rpm