Author Topic: High School power supply update.  (Read 2786 times)

Offline geologieTopic starter

High School power supply update.
« on: February 25, 2018, 04:08:54 am »
Hi.  I'm a sciences teacher and i want to upgrade our power supply units.  What we have for years are linear 5A with a beefy transformer that are ''regulated'' with a SCR,   That was ok 20 years ago for light bulb and ceramics resistors experiments but programs changed and we now have experiments that needs regulated DC.

We don't have budget to buy new power supply (about 25 units).  So i bought some AC-DC step down on eBay and replace the module that was in the source with these LM317 or LM338 kit.  The problem is that the transformer output is about 36V and these kit don't last long or even don't work at all with voltage more than about 28V.  I experiment a newly rebuilt unit with a LM317 kit with  a variable AC input at about 100V insted of 120V and the power supply like that because the AC output drop to about 28V.

My question is how, without a variable isolation transformer, can i lower the 36v output of the transformer (or the 120V input) so i can put 24V to 28V AC insted of 36V AC in the  LM module ?

These power supply are still sold today and they still have the same bad design for about 550$ CAN! :

https://www.fishersci.com/shop/products/variable-ac-dc-power-supply-ac-dc-power-supply-built-in-panel-ammeter-voltmeter/s441856

The case, voltmeter,  Ammeter, rear breaker, terminal post and transformer are heavy duty; they are built like  tanks that's why i want ot keep them and upgrade.  The only problem is the way it is regulated...

Thanks for helping me and my teen students!
« Last Edit: February 25, 2018, 05:00:23 am by geologie »

Offline lmester

• Regular Contributor
    • My page
Re: High School power supply update.
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2018, 06:31:13 am »
Hello,