Author Topic: How to Speck out Transformer and Bridge Recifier  (Read 1601 times)

Offline jacob84401Topic starter

How to Speck out Transformer and Bridge Recifier
« on: July 30, 2015, 02:14:41 am »
I have a project that for past versions I have been using a DC power supply.  To take it to the next level, I would like to the AC to DC conversion on my PCB.  This is my first time ever specking out parts to do this and I am wondering if I have the right process.  I will take you through my thoughts.

I currently use a LM2596-ADJ switching voltage regulator with an input voltage of 12.10 VDC I saw on average a 78 mA current from my circuit.  The highest peak I saw was a fairly rare 140 mA.  So that brings me to a peak power consumption of 1.69 Watts.

With that I went to mouser and filtered for any transformer that accepts a 110-120VAC input and has anything between a 2-3.5 Watt rating.  The cheapest one was the F36-065-C2 datasheet http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/410/36-065-C2-263502.pdf.

Now for the bride rectifier.  I discovered that bridge rectifiers are cheap and can be small with a high amperage.  With that I chose a large 1.5 A in a SMT package and chose the cheapest one the ABS15M RGG.  datasheet http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/395/ABS15J%20SERIES_A13-335344.pdf

Okay then I drop a 470uF cap on the input line to my voltage regulator and I should be good to go right????

So my questions:
Was my thinking correct with the transformer and rectifier?
How big of a filter cap should I put on the incoming line?  Is there a rule of thumb or calculation?
Why is it that my 1 cubic inch tablet charger can put out 5 watts and I spec out a transformer twice that size and it is much lower power?  How do they do they make it so small?
In the end I want a cheap AC to DC conversion and not have it be too massive.  (I can make the size of what I specked out work if needed)

Thanks for your help!

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: How to Speck out Transformer and Bridge Recifier