Author Topic: Ideal replacement for LEDs in current-driven strings  (Read 1459 times)

Offline mattjTopic starter

Ideal replacement for LEDs in current-driven strings
« on: November 21, 2014, 10:38:09 pm »
Hi all,

Just to give some context, I'm a hobbyist electrical engineer but with a background in industrial-style electrics (specifically theatre & events). My experience is mainly with digital electronics (and the high-power AC stuff) but this is much more of an analog problem!
I've recently taken on doing some repair of some china-sourced LED fixtures - similar to these.

Generally all the drive side is fairly straightforward repair - but I'm not sure what the best approach is on the LEDs. I cannot source replacement diodes - it would have to be an exact match with the others on the board which are obscure chinese parts, as otherwise it would throw off colour-mixing, so it's safer just to leave these dead - but being in a series string, I can't just bridge over the LED (at least I think not!).

There's two basic architecture:
V1: 24V supply fed into LM317 configured as fixed current source - for one particular colour, ~450ma. A variable number of LEDs (depending on their forward voltage, to maximize string length) then a low-side MOSFET doing 1khz PWM dimming.

V2: 48V supply fed straight into the string - different strings have a different number of LEDs. Low-side buck converter acting as a current source (sink?), again in this case configured for ~450ma (although there are a total of 12 converters, one per string, at varying currents). This is using a clone of a Microchip HV9910 as the controller.

V2 is the trickiest - in some cases, a single converter powers two parallel strings - and I only want to bypass a dead LED on one side of the string.

So I have four situations that I want to bypass:
S1: Dead LED on single string powered by high-side LM317.
S2: Dead LED on single string powered by low-side HV9910.