Author Topic: Inquiries on linear actuator  (Read 4521 times)

Offline villagerTopic starter

Inquiries on linear actuator
« on: April 17, 2014, 08:18:51 pm »
I'm doing a prototype project on automated car parking. It's basically a structure of three cube-shaped parking slots that can move up and down only (one degree of freedom). While I've been looking for a simple electromechanical solution that can do the stated objective, I've stumbled upon linear actuators. Given that I'm a novice in the area of motors and motor control, I'm a bit confused about the variants of these linear actuators and how to electronically control each one.

From my research, I've known that there are two types of electromechanical linear actuators. The first one is based on brushed DC motor and the second one is based on stepper motor. I don't know much about the difference between the two apart from the fact that stepper motor has the capability to rotate in microsteps giving the ability for position control. I want to know which type would be better and how each one can be controlled to extend and retract the shaft (reverse direction). All I've suggested is an H-bridge to reverse the power supply polarity, but I don't know if this holds true to stepper motor, too.

I've come to know that the stepper motor linear actuator, due to its microstepping nature, would be better for my application because I would be able to control the stopping position of each vacant parking slot, which would be on ground level, without the need to use an external sensor like a Hall Effect sensor. 

I would like to read your answers and suggestions if you please.

Online ajb

• Super Contributor
Re: Inquiries on linear actuator
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2014, 01:13:29 am »