Author Topic: Isolated Flyback converter in boost mode  (Read 1662 times)

Offline shangaorenTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Isolated Flyback converter in boost mode
« on: December 19, 2018, 02:18:55 pm »
Hello everyone,

I'm looking to make an isolated power supply for a jbc tip (isolated to not interfere with thermocouple in the tip)
I would like to output around 160W at around 30V with an input going from 9 to 25V, it's for a heating element so the stability is not a critical part. 
As far as i know isolated flyback seems to do the stuff but i'm not an expert in that domain :
Is there some already done design that match my needs ?
If not what should i choose an all integrated controller or design my own with a microcontroller ?
What transformer should i take ?

Offline nick_d

• Regular Contributor
Re: Isolated Flyback converter in boost mode
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2018, 10:28:22 am »
It's really not too easy, I know having spent many hours trying to do it (switched to other projects, will return to it).

The best advice I can give is buy a PS matching those specs from China. Although, do look inside before installing it.

Otherwise, this is what you do:
1. In Digikey parametric search choose your controller. Many have built-in power MOSFET but I think with your power requirement you may have to use an external MOSFET.
2. Design your transformer, I used a procedure from a book and wrote a Python program to carry it out. It involves basically figuring out how much energy the transformer needs to store and your maximum DC resistance and so on, then choosing a bobbin, core and wire of sufficient capacity.
3. Read datasheet for controller carefully and build one of the examples in it. It will help you calculate resistors etc.