Author Topic: L200 CC/CV bench power supply  (Read 11294 times)

Offline microbugTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Electronics Enthusiast
L200 CC/CV bench power supply
« on: May 16, 2013, 05:35:55 pm »
Hi,
I'm fairly new to electronics and one things that seems to be recommended by everyone to do is to make a bench power supply, so I'm designing one (see attachments).
It's a bit of a mish-mash of different designs, but the base is from here.
I am posting this because I am pretty much certain there will be problems with the design that I haven't spotted, and would like input on what I should change.
Thanks in advance for any help!

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: L200 CC/CV bench power supply
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 06:07:24 pm »
I sincerely hope you're not connecting this directly to 220-240v, without an isolation transformer.  Fuse and capacitor on input certainly seem to hint that.

What's the specs of this psu? 

The L200 is an interesting chip, but it seems it can only go as low as 2.85v (the vref is aprox. 2.77v) so if you want to do 1.8v, 2.1v, 2.5v, 2.8v it doesn't seems you'd be able to... and has about 2-2.5v voltage drop which is kinda big.

• Frequent Contributor
  • Electronics Enthusiast
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2013, 06:10:59 pm »
Sorry, I should have clarified! The input will be from a 30V 50 - 60VA transformer hooked up to the mains. I don't mind the minimum voltage of 2.85V; at some point I will probably make/buy a low power supply that is more accurate. The circuit diagram that I based this on says that if you connect a negative voltage to point A, you can achieve 0V output. http://obrazki.elektroda.pl/7582279200_1309598107.jpg

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2013, 07:36:46 pm »
Ok, then you don't really need a 0.1 250v capacitor, a 0.1uF 100v cap will work and is probably cheaper.