Author Topic: Led driver and component requirements (Remote phosphor light)  (Read 3683 times)

Offline steveggzTopic starter

• Contributor
Led driver and component requirements (Remote phosphor light)
« on: October 08, 2017, 01:45:04 pm »
I am building a remote phosphor light for videography. Although I understand the fundamentals I am a novice when it comes to working with LEDs. I would like to know what else I will need and make sure my setup is correct and that there isn't anything I am missing.

The light requires 120 Cree XT-E royal blue LEDs driven by 3 Meanwell HLG-240H-C1750B drivers. I also need to use one potentiometer to control the three drivers. Each driver will power 40 Cree LEDs is series.

The Cree LEDs operate at a max current of 1500mA and a forward voltage of 3.1V max. The constant current Meanwell drivers deliver 1750mA and 71-143v.

I understand the driver's current will be regulated by a resistor and potentiometer but how do I regulate the voltage? 40 LEDs X 3.1v = 124v. The driver delivers 143v, am I incorrect in assuming I need to regulate the voltage output to 124v?

Also the max current of the LEDs are 1500mA. The driver outputs 1750mA. I will need a potentiometer to dim the lights but I have to add a additional resistor to regulate the current to 1500mA max correct? What combination size and spec resistor and potentiometer do I need?

Offline Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
Re: Led driver and component requirements (Remote phosphor light)
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2017, 03:17:24 pm »
You only regulate the current, and make sure your maximum voltage is more than the led voltage (calculate with the "maximum" Vf in the datasheet) + some leeway, so that you never run out of voltage.

Note that if your LED string pops open circuit for any reason, the driver gives its maximum output voltage, so you might not want to go to extremes. 143V DC (just like 124V) is beyond safety voltage specs in all legislations AFAIK so you need to design properly.