Author Topic: Liquid Level Circuit Design  (Read 2178 times)

Offline sirklezeroTopic starter

• I was a teenage Doppelgänger
Liquid Level Circuit Design
« on: December 09, 2018, 06:07:00 pm »
Hello!

I'm pretty new to designing circuits, and am working on a project to keep a tank of water filled between the level of two sensors; a min and max level scenario. I have an extensive software engineering background and put together a pretty simple arduino project to do this, but then decided I wanted something a bit simpler, a bit less overkill, and something also where I could learn a few new things. So, I decided to ditch the arduino and design something a bit lower level. I'm hoping someone here could give this a once over and provide a friendly critique of what I'm working on. I've attached the KiCad schema as an attachment.

With that said, here's what I've been thinking:

The system is based on two optical liquid level sensors, one installed near the bottom of my tank, and one near the top. Both output 0V when exposed to liquid and in my case 5V when exposed to air. I'm looking to keep the water level in between those two sensors, without dropping below the lower, or filling higher than the top by using a solenoid controlled brass liquid valve. Since this is water, and it's in my basement, I'm also concerned about overfilling and flooding my basement, so I've installed a mechanical float valve on the inside of the tank that can mechanically shut the water supply off if it reaches the actual top of the tank (near enough). My experience with these floats is that they are far from perfect and at least the two that I've tried have had leaks that caused them to fill faster than the water is used, causing a small water disaster. All of this is then connected to the utility water connection in the basement for its water supply.