Author Topic: Measure solar radiation (W/m2) using SI1133  (Read 2763 times)

Offline Dave_PTTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
    • DavidMartinsEngineering
Measure solar radiation (W/m2) using SI1133
« on: April 07, 2018, 06:18:29 pm »
I'm moving forward with a project that has to be closed in a short time for a prototyping of a few hundred units.

An important part is the measurement of solar radiation. I decided to use the SI1133 and make the sum of IR, visible and UV. For the application I'm doing is perfect.

However I am studying more deeply the operation of the sensor and I am very confused. I think I got even more when I saw some online sw libs for it.

What are the ADC's settings and the conversion calculation of the channel readings to W/m2?
How can I relate to table 8.3 (datasheet)?

ADCCONFIG0 = 0x02;  - IR
ADCCONFIG1 = 0x0D;  - VISIBLE
ADCCONFIG2 = 0x18;  - UV

I can not move forward from this point because I do not understand what kind of result the sensor will give me.

My strategy would be to get the direct values with the sensor without a lens (to be able to use the ratio of table 8.3) and use another sensor with a Teflon diffuser lens to calculate the lens attenuation.

The goal is to do something similar to a pyranometer.

Can anyone give me more infos? Some help? Is my thinking correct?

Links:
SI1133 datasheet
AN968
MBED_LIB SI1133

Thank you.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2018, 11:13:52 am by Dave_PT »

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Measure solar radiation (W/m2) using SI1133
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2018, 08:26:53 pm »
The box where I will house the circuit will have a 8mm diam hole to insert this lens that I machined in Teflon.

If I can take sensor readings (in W/m2) without a diffusing lens and use these measurements to "calibrate" the sensor with a diffusing lens, it will be fantastic.

But for now the difficulties remain: how to configure the ADCs so I can relate the measurements with the table 8.3.