Author Topic: Modeling an Oven with matlab and finding the PID numbers automaticaly  (Read 7253 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Hi
I have built an oven for my projects, I need to tune the oven temperature to a certain temperature, I have decided to use PID as my controller,

Here I have tested the system with my Power elements to it's full power (PWM was set to 1000), yes I can PWM my elements from 0 to 1000.  And have read the thermocouple temperature with 500ms sample rate.

I'm new to matlab, I wanted to model my oven with the sample data and find the best KI,KP,KD parameters for fine tuning my PID controller.

I have attached the Oven data, please guide me to do it, I know it's must be so damn simple.

ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline mjkuwp

• Supporter
  • mechanical engineering defector
    • The Mz Lab
Re: Modeling an Oven with matlab and finding the PID numbers automaticaly
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 11:30:52 am »
What is the power level of the heating elements and the volume (inside dimensions) of the oven?  Where do you have your feedback sensor? is it placed in the air in the middle of the oven or somewhere else?

Offline ondreji

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2017, 12:21:36 pm »
Your data looks like a step response. Find delay time L and time constant T. For Ziegler-Nichols method (response with an overshoot about 25% and good settling time and there are more robust methods):

P only: P = T / L
PI: P = 0.9L / T, I = .27 T / L / L
PID: 1.2T / L, I = .6 T / L / L, D = .6T

Then experiment with:
P - to change rise time
D - reduce overshoot and settling time
I - tweak steady-state error

At this point you have PID regulator (analog) and it should be converted to PSD (digital, dt is your temperature measurement sampling time): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PID_controller#Discrete_implementation

• Super Contributor