Author Topic: My analog 0-12V 3A benchtop power supply  (Read 39358 times)

Offline Alex30Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
My analog 0-12V 3A benchtop power supply
« on: December 15, 2014, 12:13:17 pm »
So I have pretty much finished my design for my benchtop power supply. It is loosely based on a few different supplies I have seen on this forum and Dave's eevblog tutorial. I am still fairly new to all this stuff but have tried to learn as much as I possibly can to design this. I have already mostly set up this in LTspice (minus the preregulator and one or two other things) and it seems to work okay. I have not provided the ltspice project as it is very messy and not quite the same as my drawing, but I can supply it if someone wants to see it.

I have not included any mains transforming or anything like that as I do not have the experience to mess around with mains and did not feel comfortable doing this, so I plan on powering it with an existing 16V laptop charger I have picked up.

My supply uses a tracking pre regulator to provide the linear regulators (I chose 2 x 1.5A ones because they were easier for me to get) with an appropriate voltage to regulate such that the voltage drop should only be about 1.7V. It also uses current sensing \ setting that limits the output voltage to ensure the set current isn't exceeded. In addition to this, there is an optional fuse mode that can be turned on with a switch that will use a monostable that turns off the preregulator (therefore the supply) for about 800ms if the set current is exceeded. This set current is previewed on a voltmeter.

Please excuse my drawing, I am actually a civil draftsman but I am not used to eagle or electrical drawings so I have done my best without going crazy.

Hopefully you guys will be kind enough to give me some feedback\comments\criticism. I'm sure there's a few mistakes, hopefully not so many I have to reconsider large portions of the design  |O! Cheers guys!  :-+

EDIT