Author Topic: My first try at a micro-controller, based on the Arduino Uno firmware  (Read 11654 times)

Offline thibmoTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello guys, I am rather new to the EEVBlog forum, but not to the Youtube series.
I have been trying my go on some PCB designs before, yet now I tried to create a little micro-controller based on the Aruino Uno firmware for the Atmel ATMEGA328-PU.
I would love to hear your thoughts about it.
It will be mainly used for a small project, yet I will also make it open-source-hardware.
I am sorry for the curlyness of the traces, I simply love the looks of it, I try to make mine look a bit like the old-school hand-made boards.
I know there is a lot to be implemented, like a proper power-plug, input protection and a little on-board power regulation, but it's V0.0.1, and my first one that I actually wish to publish, I had one before, a 7.5-35V step-down to 5v circuit, but I couldn't get the right parts to get 5V exact... Oh well.
Give me your thoughts. :)

Offline JohnnyBerg

• Frequent Contributor
Re: My first try at a micro-controller, based on the Arduino Uno firmware
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2015, 06:27:28 pm »
Where is the header for programming the bootloader or upload software?

Why do I want this relative large board, and not have a Arduino mini pro for $2,- ?

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2015, 07:45:22 pm »
Where is the header for programming the bootloader or upload software?

Why do I want this relative large board, and not have a Arduino mini pro for $2,- ?

Good question, and to answer it, every pin is connected, so were one to grab the datasheet that will be included, one could find out which pins are for flashing the firmware.
On the other hand, the RX and TX pins are on the board, these are used by the USB module to handle the code exchange, meaning you could use the Arduino IDE to write and "upload" your codes.