Author Topic: My POV fidget spinner project / Check my PCB please  (Read 1938 times)

Online buck converterTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
My POV fidget spinner project / Check my PCB please
« on: May 23, 2017, 08:54:23 pm »
so i thought I would make myself a fidget spinner that uses 5 leds to display stuff. It is controlled by an attiny84a, has buttons to change the mode and even a hall sensor so it can sense speed and direction. powered by a 20 mm coin cell. I am just hobbyist in high school and will etch these boards at home. I will only make a few, some to sell at school. this is my first time working with SMT, so i limited myself to 0805 and SOIC packages. even got some lead free solder paste.

Only help i think i need now is some review of my PCB. like i said, home etched, soic and 0805 and using solder paste. This not a professional product, i am only in high school. Just wondering if my design has any major faults.

below are the board and schematic.

the trace width varies quite a bit, i don't want traces to close to each other or to thin because i am etching this. Thick traces have better chance of working out.
Just me and my scope.

Offline Buriedcode

• Super Contributor
Re: My POV fidget spinner project / Check my PCB please
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2017, 11:16:58 pm »
Not bad, especially for someone in high school  :-+

0805 and SOIC are definitely solderable by hand, even without solder paste.  The key is flux.  Preferably gel flux - stuff tahts specifically for electronics, as there's various corrosive types for plumbing/welding that will do more harm than good.

Circuit:
Are you sure the Attiny has internal pullups on the switch inputs? (it might, I just don't know). Does the ahll sensor require a pull-up/down resistor on its output? What happens if you;re software makes that an input? will it fry the hall sensor?