Author Topic: Need to dissolve epoxy potting in ignition coil.  (Read 15446 times)

Offline CirclotronTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Need to dissolve epoxy potting in ignition coil.
« on: September 29, 2014, 11:29:59 am »
I have a General Motors LSx ignition coil (has a potted coil driver cct inside) and I need to find out the just exactly what this circuit inside is. I have looked into what is involved in dissolving the epoxy but the chemicals needed  sound hazardous. Can anyone tell me of a company that could do this for me? Preferably Australia but United States is also okay; have a contact over there.

P.S. Don't anybody say just use a MC3334. They are not suitable.
I have been building ignitions for 37 years.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2014, 11:32:29 am by Circlotron »

Offline calzap

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Need to dissolve epoxy potting in ignition coil.
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2014, 02:22:52 pm »
If you search on youtube for "Decapping ICs", you will find a post by Applied Science on how to use hot fuming nitric acid to dissolve (destroy really) epoxy.  It does involve a dangerous chemical, and he does not take adequate precautions.  The worker should wear closed shoes, long pants, gloves, goggles, and a lab coat with long sleeves, and there should be a fume exhaust system rated for corrosive gases and a clear, shatter-proof shield between the worker and the work.   Ideally a lab-grade fume hood should be used. This method will do away with most metals and plastics.  Semiconductors, gold, glass, some plastics (e.g. teflon) and ceramics should be relatively untouched.   The other relatively inexpensive method is a slow, careful grind with a small milling bit in a high-speed drill, like a Dremel or its air-driven counterpart.