Author Topic: new project  (Read 5703 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
new project
« on: July 23, 2015, 12:39:50 am »
Hello everyone
I am starting a new project witch is for my shades. I am using a sis2 chip to control a ir remote cennted to a dc motor. I have never used this chip before and I been having some trouble with the programming two signals up and down on the remote. I have a pic here to show you guys what I have come up with so far. I would appreciate it very much if you would look at the schematic and see if there is any problem.
Lou
 

Offline c4757p

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7799
  • Country: us
  • adieu
Re: new project
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 12:42:01 am »
Did you look at your own photo before posting it? I can't make out a thing!
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)
 

Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
Re: new project
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2015, 01:41:19 am »
Here is the pic
 

Offline codeboy2k

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1836
  • Country: ca
Re: new project
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2015, 02:05:41 am »
Geez man... it took me about 15 minutes to figure out what you had drawn there.

I thought the relays were motor windings at first, until I realized you were trying to draw a relay coil and switches.

two things I see:
1)  RLY 2 - the diode is in the wrong place, it should be like RLY 1, across the relay coil.

2) your relay coils are getting current limited by the 220 ohm resistors, which I assumed you put there for the LED's (not the relays). If you're using 5V relays and you're current limiting them on the gnd side, it may not have enough current to pull in the relay.  The voltage drop across the 220 ohm is raising one side of the relay above ground by that amount, so the coil voltage is probably too low.

If those are 5V relays, you should instead take the relay straight to ground (and take the LED to ground through the 220 ohm resistor).

« Last Edit: July 23, 2015, 02:08:37 am by codeboy2k »
 

Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
Re: new project
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2015, 02:31:39 am »
You are right codeboy2k I drew the diode in the wrong place also the coil on relay 2 .I have redrawn it.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2015, 02:42:59 am by kjn4685 »
 

Offline Kalvin

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2145
  • Country: fi
  • Embedded SW/HW.
Re: new project
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2015, 02:48:39 pm »
You could try something like this. The D1 is a fast schottky diode placed in parallel with the relay coil. The D2 is optional schottky diode or 1N4148 used to protect the LED. When the transistor's base is being pulled high, the transistor will be turned "on" and the relay will be activated. At the same time the LED will be lit.
 

Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
Re: new project
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2015, 10:28:03 pm »
 :(Hello again
Thanks Kalvin
I am having another problem. When I switch on my power supply both leds come on, and on my meters the on voltage reads 5.03 & 4.79. Now when I switch both the leds off the voltage drops very slowly. I do not know if it is the voltage draining off the power supply or what. also on the power supply it is pulling about 200ma when everything is off. that's going to drain my battery's very fast. I do not know what to do next I have tried everything. Do you guys have any ideas. 
« Last Edit: July 24, 2015, 02:10:23 am by kjn4685 »
 

Offline Kalvin

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2145
  • Country: fi
  • Embedded SW/HW.
Re: new project
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2015, 11:43:23 am »
Hi kjn4685,

It would help finding the problem if you can draw the schematics of your current circuit.
 

Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
Re: new project
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2015, 06:14:31 pm »
Dear Kalvin
Here is my redraw en schematic.
 

Offline Kalvin

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2145
  • Country: fi
  • Embedded SW/HW.
Re: new project
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2015, 06:25:12 pm »
Thanks, kjn4685!

If you look carefully your schematics and compare that to my suggestion above, you may notice that you have connected the diodes D1, D2, D3 and D4 backwards. Just flip the diodes around and you should be fine.

Edit: According to your new schematics, the LEDs are connected also backwards. Are you sure you have drawn the schematics correctly? If the LEDs were backwards, they should not be lit at all.  :-//
« Last Edit: July 24, 2015, 06:31:28 pm by Kalvin »
 

Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
Re: new project
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2015, 11:00:10 pm »
Hey thanks Kelvin
You are right about the schematics and as soon as I can I will post the changes.
Lou
 


Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
Re: new project
« Reply #12 on: July 26, 2015, 09:32:28 pm »
I have redraw en the schematics and I hope this will be right.
 

Offline Kalvin

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2145
  • Country: fi
  • Embedded SW/HW.
Re: new project
« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2015, 10:09:34 pm »
I have redraw en the schematics and I hope this will be right.

That looks good to me. I cannot find any problem there when I compare that to the datasheet http://simerec.com/SIS-2.pdf
Just add 100nF capacitor between the pins 1 and 8, so the SIS-2 will hava a proper bypass capacitor available.

 

Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
Re: new project
« Reply #14 on: July 27, 2015, 12:00:09 am »
Thanks Kalvin

Again you are right. I just forgot to add it. Hey thanks to all of you who gave me advice.
Lou
 

Offline kjn4685Topic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Country: us
Re: new project
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2015, 11:48:11 pm »
Thanks to everyone that help me on my board.Now I am trying to run a dc motor in forward and reverse, But I have run into a problem. This is what is going on I am trying to use this motor driver Adjustable PWM DC Motor Speed Switch Controller 10V 12V 24V 30V Reversible 120W.
When I hook it up the motor only runs in one direction. I have post a pic on what i have done so far.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf