Author Topic: Normalize TDR pulse with software  (Read 5045 times)

Offline SnakeTopic starter

• Contributor
Normalize TDR pulse with software
« on: September 15, 2014, 06:01:08 am »
I want to thank everybody for their support in the other thread about <30ps pulse generator. I have at the moment a pretty fast TDR and want to improve the measurement data. There is a feature called Normalizing for TDR and this can be done in software.With normalizing you can compensate for the aberrations from the pulse source. With this feature you can also simulate the behavior of the DUT under different pulse rise-time conditions.

I studied this topic for several years and I am close to a software solution that can do this for us in real-time. It is a LabVIEW based code that can be used to capture calibration data from a short and during the real measurement it shows you the normalized waveform.

A polish professor published his code on the internet and I want to reuse it. I programmed 95% of the code and I am missing 5%. If somebody can help me to finish the program then this would be grade. I can also share the code to other users.

This is the URL to the paper: http://www.pe.org.pl/articles/2011/3/69.pdf

PS: this paper and LabVIEW code is based on papers and matlab code from picosecond

• Contributor
Re: Normalize TDR pulse with software
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 07:28:44 am »
In my previous post I talked about the LabVIEW code for normalizing. There are two blocks I still did not finish:

- Inverse Nicolson procedure
- Special filter (Bennia-Nahman minimum phase filter) on output waveform after normalization

The filter is not a standard filter and rarely used. This makes it difficult to program. Picosecond has a free example in Matlab and explained in a paper from their website but I do not know how to program in Matlab. Can somebody help me with this?

Offline eurofox

• Supporter
    • Music
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2014, 11:41:16 am »