Author Topic: Power supply design based off #224 eevblog  (Read 3997 times)

Offline Alex30Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Power supply design based off #224 eevblog
« on: August 21, 2014, 02:27:28 pm »
Hey all, first post so hopefully this is the right section.

I was interested in building a power supply based off of Dave's basic design (before he added all that fancy micro controller stuff) as a basic current limiter and voltage adjust with a pot is all I need.  I have tried to reproduce Dave's circuit sketch in LTspice (project attached) but I am having some problems as the output voltage and current is incorrect and I can't work out why. I'm a bit new to these techniques and the software, so either I have misinterpreted Dave's sketch or I have not used LTspice correctly.

I had some success by using the standard default part with parameters set, instead of just typing in the desired capacitance or selecting generic opamp units. This means that some of my capacitance varies as I wasn't able to select a capacitor smaller than 1u.

Any help here would really be appreciated as I feel like I have a decent understanding of how this circuit works but I can't reproduce it.

Thanks
« Last Edit: August 21, 2014, 02:57:17 pm by Alex30 »

Offline HackedFridgeMagnet

• Super Contributor
Re: Power supply design based off #224 eevblog
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2014, 02:46:16 pm »
You can post the asc files if you zip them. This will make it easier for people to help.

Your op amps seem to have the power rails connected reverse. Maybe that will fix it.

Also IN5818?? you need a voltage ref.

« Last Edit: August 21, 2014, 02:52:37 pm by HackedFridgeMagnet »

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2014, 02:53:54 pm »
Ah, the weird way ltspice rotates and mirrors caught me out there, thanks. But it didn't seem to fix the problem. Uploaded the asc as you said.

Thanks for your help this seems like a really good community, I will probably spend some time here.

EDIT