Author Topic: Precision Isolated current sense (16bit+)  (Read 2166 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Precision Isolated current sense (16bit+)
« on: September 22, 2018, 05:40:05 am »
Hi,
We have a product that uses CT's to measure the 50Hz currents, we have used it about 10 years (it's in protection relays), but we want to upgrade our product, so I have seen these hall effect sensors for some years, I want to know if there are better and newer devices for CT's replacement, since the main problem with them is that they are custom made, pricey and big! also they produce some phase shifts in the current waves, but you can calibrate these things in software! ;)

So regarding CT's and hall effect sensors or other methods of Isolated multi channel current measurement, please share your experience or Ideas.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2018, 07:34:35 am by ali_asadzadeh »
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline jbb

• Super Contributor
Re: Precision Isolated current sense (16bit+)
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2018, 08:44:35 am »
Yes, CTs can get quite large depending on accuracy and burden requirements.  What sort of environment are you working in?  Low (<1000V AC), Medium (<30 kV AC) or high?  How large are the primary currents?  Are you measuring primary current in the switchgear or secondary current in the relay (1A / 5A nominal)?

For primary current over 100A, I would stick with CTs (or Rogowskis) because they are so robust.  For secondary current, I guess Hall Effect sensors would offer better bandwidth and thus phase accuracy which is relevant for metering and precision protection.

There are a couple of gotchas with Hall Effect sensors, though:
  • They can be sensitive to external fields (depends on make)
  • They need temperature compensation (usually built in)