Author Topic: Programming tools for Arduino and Teensy  (Read 6806 times)

Offline raptor1956Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Programming tools for Arduino and Teensy
« on: June 26, 2017, 05:37:35 am »
I'm just getting started with Arduino and have a Mega2560 as well as a Teensy 3.6 on the way but I have some questions about the various programming tools out there.  I know both controllers will take code generated with the Arduino IDE and plan to start with IDE, but what about other development tools like the Atmel Studio?  I have to believe most all the genuine Arduino controllers will work with Studio but what about the Teensy 3.6.  What other tools are useful for code generation?

I should mention that it's been quite a while since I did any serious programming, about 25 years in fact, and in that time I've only done a little Visual Basic.  The earlier programming was for Unimation then Staubli 760/762 robots using a Basic like language known as VAL/VAL2.

So, for the near term I'll be using the IDE but other tools like Studio and Processing seem to have some things that might make then better for some things -- I just don't know if the Teensy 3.6 series is compatible without jumping through unpleasant hoops.

Brian

Offline MosherIV

• Super Contributor
Re: Programming tools for Arduino and Teensy
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2017, 07:01:39 am »
Hi, you just need the Arduino IDE. The Arduino come pre-programmed with what is called a 'bootloader' which communicates with the Arduino IDE. That is all you need.
There may be other programming tools that support the Arduino but i do not know what they are.

The Atmel Studio is for developing programs like the bootloader, it also need a special peice of hardware to programe the Atmel chip. I do not think Atmel studio allows Arduino code development. You need to know about the detail of the chip in order to use Atmel Studio.