Author Topic: Quiet Motors for Lab Experiments  (Read 2887 times)

Offline eerocketmanTopic starter

• Contributor
Quiet Motors for Lab Experiments
« on: November 19, 2017, 09:03:36 pm »
Hi Everyone,

I am currently studying the behavior of mice in a lab. I would like to create a fixture that includes a motor, but I ma worried that the sound from the motor will interfere with the conditioning of the mice. Does anyone have suggestions for small brushed DC motors that are very very quiet. OR would getting a regular motor and creating a sound proof housing be a better solution to this problem?

Thanks!

Offline cdev

• Super Contributor
  • !
Re: Quiet Motors for Lab Experiments
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2017, 09:15:17 pm »
The quietest computer fans might be good places to start. You could seriously undervolt them if you needed even less noise from them. then use nylon gears - plastic gears to transform the force to whatever you needed quietly.

"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away."

Offline _Wim_

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2017, 09:24:52 pm »
Hi Everyone,

I am currently studying the behavior of mice in a lab. I would like to create a fixture that includes a motor, but I ma worried that the sound from the motor will interfere with the conditioning of the mice. Does anyone have suggestions for small brushed DC motors that are very very quiet. OR would getting a regular motor and creating a sound proof housing be a better solution to this problem?

Thanks!

What torque and rpm you need. For high quality motors and professional projects Maxon Motors is one of the best and plenty of choice. There DC motor running at low RPM (motors without a gear box that is) are very quiet.

As suggested above, if high torque is needed and thus a gearbox, go for nylon gears instead of metal gearing, but I think a better approach is to oversize the motor and run at low rpm

Offline Alex Eisenhut

• Super Contributor
  • Place text here.