Author Topic: Sensing stepper motor winding currents  (Read 12883 times)

Offline hlavacTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Sensing stepper motor winding currents
« on: February 21, 2015, 02:48:27 pm »
I'm thinking about making a little tool for mesuring total current thru a bipolar stepper motor on my 3D printers, as setting current thru potentiometers on the driver boards seems to be very unreliable.

It would plug between the stepper motor and driver board onto the four wires going to the stepper motor.
I guess it would put small current sense resistor in series with each winding, measure the voltages, rectify them and sum the two rectified voltages to get the measure of the total current thru both wingings.
But the devil is in the details and I'm not too experienced in the analog stuff :)

My naive implementation would consist of:
  • resistor dividers getting the 30V-ish voltages from the ends of the shunts to within the allowable range of the opamps. The windings are driven from H-bridges with up to 25V so the ends will jump around... These will further attentuate the voltage from the shuts but what can I do?
  • two instrumentation amplifiers to get the voltages across the two shunts referenced to my ground,
  • precision rectifiers to flip the voltages to the positive side when the bipolar driver drives the current in the negative way,
  • a summing circuit to add them together,
  • simple RC element to collect and lowpass the overall voltage for use in the indicator part of the circuit (probably small microcontroller with ADC driving LED display or bargraph).
I'm a bit worried about having to use symmetric power supply. Having to use two batteries sucks.
Any good ideas on how to do this? Mybe some interesting components for current sensing?
« Last Edit: February 21, 2015, 02:50:27 pm by hlavac »
Good enough is the enemy of the best.

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs